About Empower Tanzania

Empower Tanzania is about volunteers. We have a volunteer Board of Directors and a group of incredible individuals working on committees and leading projects, as well as donating services and expertise. Without these dedicated people, nothing we do would be possible. In addition to our excellent volunteers, we have staff in both the U.S. and Tanzania working to maximize our impact. Together, we make a difference!

Tanzania Staff

Elibariki Kisimbo
Country Director, Tanzania
Joseph Johnson Kimbwereza
Integrated Farming & Water Projects Director
Efancia Nzota
Health Programs Manager
Flora Zephania Mmbaga
Yoeza Mbonea Mnzava
Education Programs Director
Catherine John Wales
Health Programs Coordinator
Nteghenjwa Mjema
Administrative Assistant
Mary Mrutu
Secretary & Asst. Coordinator, Same Learning Center
Meshack Henry Mkongo
Teacher, Same Learning Center
Riziki Joseph Kimbwereza
Assistant Coordinator, Same Learning Center

United States Team

Todd Byerly
Executive Director
Phil Latessa
Director of Development
Leslie Klipsch
Director of Communications
Amy Sivertsen
Accounts Consultant
Dr. Jeffrey Carithers
Health Programs Director
Carol Putz
Integrated Farming Program Director
Sheri Krumm
Integrated Farming Program Manager

"It is in your hands to create a better world for all who live in it." -Nelson Mandela

Board of Directors



  • Jennie Peakin
  • Jill June
  • Carol Putz
  • Frank Klipsch
  • Charles Bursch
  • Kip Peters
  • Holley Bzdega
  • Rob Craig
  • Chip Lowe
  • Nahana Mjema
  • Amon Noel Mchomvu
  • Mike Welsch

Wezesha Circle

  • Phil Latessa
  • Kindra Jacobsen
  • Mike & Deborah Welsch
  • Denise Murray Edwards
  • Robert Craig
  • Heide & Charles Bursch
  • Hanne Dalmut
  • Jennie & Sean Peakin
  • Ali Carithers
  • Kent & Sara Johnson
  • Chad & Andrea McKenna
  • Frank Klipsch
  • Eric Dreibelbeis & Candice Schlafmann
  • Denise Charter-Jones
  • Diane Ullom
  • Amy & Andrew Sivertsen
  • Glen Rippke
  • Dr. Jeff Carithers
  • Mark & Jan Burnham
  • John & Anne Hartson
  • Sara Olson-Smith
  • Frederic & Martha Hoerr
  • Mike Gaul
  • Andrew Bice
  • Dave King
  • Bonnie & Dick Ekse
  • Mike Roselli
  • Noelle & Aaron Fultz
  • Rachel Stauffer
  • Debra Parrott
  • Eric & Rebecca Gerke
  • Elaine Olson
  • Patty Johannesen
  • Jaymie & Jason Wilson
  • Karen Clark
  • Jill Hook
  • Linda & Joe Coen
  • Jill June
  • Chip Lowe
  • Ed Bell
  • Mark Tucker
  • Sarah Peakin
  • Lisa Veach
  • Ryan Schneider & Lindsey Mack
  • Carolyn Schnell
  • Sandy Scotton
  • Jake & Leslie Klipsch
  • Matthew Seberger
  • Marta Ford
  • Dennis Ullom
  • Elisabeth Ullom
  • Dr. Holley & Ted Bzdega
  • Kip Peters & Jodi Morgan-Peters
  • Don Wolfe
  • Marlene Marolf
  • Lenore Metrick-Chen
  • Garrett Ullom
  • Stacie and Tom Franklin
  • Jean Morgan

Become part of our community of monthly giving!

Sign Up for Our Newsletter